Skip to main content

Programs Offered

A general education program that offers supplemental support to a student that requires prompting, redirecting, organization support, and/or reinforcement of personal, social, academic and behavioral goals. 

In-Class Resource (ICR)- A general education program that offers specialized instruction with a general education and special education teacher. The student shall be provided modification to the instructional strategies or testing procedures or other specialized instruction to access the general education curriculum in accordance with the students IEP. ICR is offered in various classes in each building throughout the District. 

Preschool Disabled (PSD)- A program for students that have been found eligible as a "preschool child with a disability". Students would be between the ages of 3-5 and experience at 33% delay in one of the 5 required areas, or a 25% delay in two or more of the required areas. Gen Ed preschools are offered at the following schools:  Citta, Silver Bay, and the Early Learning Center.  Preschool Disabilities Programs are offered in: Cedar Grove, Silver Bay, and the Early Learning Center. 

Pull out Replacement Resource (POR)- A special education pull out class providing small group instruction to students with disabilities and run by a special education teacher. POR classes are offered at various levels in each school across the District. 

Learning and Language Disabilities (LLD)- A special class program, taught by a special education teacher, that is organized around the learning disabilities and/or language disabilities.  LLD classes are offered at the elementary and intermediate levels. 

Auditory Impairment (AI)- Our deaf and hard of hearing students are integrated in programs throughout the District and receive Teacher of the Deaf and/or interpreter services for support.

Autism- A special class program for students with an autism diagnosis. A wide spectrum of classes is offered that fall under the "Autism" umbrella . Programs are available at Beachwood, Cedar Grove, East Dover, Hooper Ave, Walnut Street, Intermediate South, and High School East

Emotional Regulation Impairment Classes (ERI)- A special class program, run by a special education teacher, that focuses on students that exhibit behavioral needs and require specialized instruction to address those needs. Our ERI programs are held at West Dover and High School East.

Intellectually Disabled (ID, formerly CI)- A special class program, run by a special education teacher, for students with cognitive disabilities. Our ID classes are offered at North Dover, Intermediate South, and High School North. 

Multiply Disabled (MD)- A special class program run by a special education teacher. These programs are based on the needs of the students with more than one disabling condition. Our various types of MD programs are offered at Beachwood, East Dover, Silver Bay, Walnut, West Dover, Intermediate East, Intermediate South, Intermediate North and High School East.

A program for students that have reached graduation age but still require additional education to achieve their IEP and graduation goals. A special class program is available at High School East.  In addition, we have a School to Work program that allows our students to gain additional work and employment skills.  

In Action

better hearing and speech month

Better Hearing and Speech Month Begins With Focus on Apraxia

Each May, BHSM provides an opportunity to raise awareness about communication disorders and the role of speech-language pathologists in providing life-altering treatment. This week the focus is on childhood apraxia of speech.

AAM

Autism Awareness Month a Time to Celebrate Differences

April is Autism Awareness month, globally recognized as the time to promote acceptance and celebrate differences.
autism summit

District Leads First Annual County-Wide Autism Summit

More than 50 educators representing 13 districts throughout Ocean County and the region participated in a hands on Autism Summit organized by Toms River Regional Schools.

Office of Special Services

Assistant Superintendent- Elementary: Mrs. Cara DiMeo CDimeo@trschools.com

Assistant Superintendent- Secondary: Mr. Pat Thomas PThomas@trschools.com 

Director of Special Services: Mrs. Joy Forrest JForrest@trschools.com

Supervisor of Autism and Preschool: Mrs. Anna Kasper AKasper@trschools.com

Supervisor of Child Study Team PK-12  Ms. Kelly Umbach KUmbach@trschools.com

Supervisor of Special Programs K-12: Mrs. Dana Weber DWeber@trschools.com 


CST Information And Contact

Kelly McNamara, LDTC,  KMcNamara@trschools.com

Joanna Novaky, LDTC, JNovaky@trschools.com

Dina Delasso, school psychologist, DDelasso@trschools.com

Kari Lefebvre, social worker,  KLefebvre@trschools.com

Yesenia Newcomb, secretary,  ynewcomb@trschools.com

Stacey Arnett, school psychologist,  SArnett@trschools.com

Linda Abramski, secretary, LAbramski@trschools.com

Denise LaRocca, LDTC, DLarocca@trschools.com

Nicole Formichella, school psychologist  NFormichella@trschools.com

Rosanne Walsh, secretary,  RWalsh1@trschools.com

Paul Fink, LDTC,  PFink@trschools.com

Lisa Frazzitta, Social Worker, LFrazzitta@trschools.com

Heather Coppinger, secretary, HCoppinger@trschools.com

Jamie Sebastian, LDTC, JSebastian@trschools.com

Mckenzie Reed, school psychologist,  MReed1@trschools.com

Lisa Kontogiannis, secretary,  LKontogiannis@trschools.com

Renee Verdon, LDTC.  RVerdon@trschools.com

Christine Malinowski, social worker,  CMalinowski@trschools.com

Lea Valentino, school psychologist,  LValentino@trschools.com

Heather Coppinger, secretary,  HCoppinger@trschools.com

Marissa Petraccoro, social worker,  MPetraccoro@trschools.com

Linda Abramski, secretary LAbramski@trschools.com

Ellen Higgins, LDTC,  eahiggins@trschools.com

Moira Gambarony, social worker,  Mgambarony@trschools.com

Heather Coppinger, secretary,  hcoppinger@trschools.com


Danielle LaVelle, school psychologist,  DLavelle@trschools.com

Linda Abramski, secretary, LAbramski@trschools.com 

Dena Kibel, LDTC,  DKibel@trschools.com

Jamie Cegerenko, social worker,  JCegerenko@trschools.com

Lisa Kontogiannis, secretary,  LKontogiannis@trschools.com

Denise LaRocca, LDTC,  DLarocca@trschools.com

Rosanne Walsh, secretary,  RWalsh1@trschools.com

Jason Ruch, school psychologist,  JRuch@trschools.com

Rosanne Walsh, secretary,  RWalsh1@trschools.com

Caroline Velasquez, LDTC,  Cvelasquez@trschools.com

Lauren Fasciani, school psychologist, LFasciani@trschools.com

Heather Price, social worker, HPrice@trschools.com

Cheryl Pratola, secretary,  CPratola@trschools.com

Diana Brush, LDTC, DBrush@trschools.com

Anne Marie Drake, school psychologist,  agingerelli1@trschools.com

Yaniliz Hererra, social worker, YHerrera@trschools.com

Priscila Caruso, secretary, PCaruso@trschools.com

Lily Occhipinti, LDTC, LOcchipinti@trschools.com

Kevin Huff, school psychologist, KHuff@trschools.com

Cameron Scarano, social worker, CScarano@trschools.com

Toni Costanza, secretary,  Acostanza@trschools.com

Dru Fonseca, LDTC, DFonseca@trschools.com

Bridget Abatemarco, school psychologist, BAbatemarco@trschools.com

Robin Lowery, school psychologist, Rjacobslowery@trschools.com

James Cartnick, social worker, JCartnick1@trschools.com

Lisa Varley, secretary, Lvarley@trschools.com

Sybil Canary, LDTC, Scanary@trschools.com

Monique Reed, school psychologist, mreed@trschools.com

Meredith Brooks, social worker, mbrooks2@trschools.com

Heather Montalvo, social worker, HMontalvo@trschools.com

Stephanie Diaz, secretary, Sdiaz@trschools.com

Andrea Brierley, LDTC, ABrierley@trschools.com

Bridget Abatemarco, school psychologist, BAbatemarco@trschools.com

Eleanor Terrill, social worker, Eterrill@trschools.com

Veronica Greenlow, secretary, VGreenlow@trschools.com

Colleen O'Donnell, BCBA, Codonnell@trschools.com

Sarah Strazzella, BCBA, Sstrazzella@trschools.com

Gina Rios, BCBA, GRios@trschools.com